Some housekeeping

…No, not that kind. Sorry. (I do love Consuela, though.)

So in short order, there should be three new videos up on YouTube–Half Life 2 part 15, followed by Portal 2 hopefully tomorrow, and another Half Life 2 either tomorrow as well or the next day. Also looking to do a Ravenholm post here, probably sometime over the weekend. (It is my birthday tomorrow though, so I reserve the right to delay a bit if I don’t feel like getting off my butt and doing work. πŸ˜‰ ).

Now, a question: I’ve noticed that, after my Half-Life posts, my D&D posts are easily the most popular of the things I’ve written here. I’m currently playing in an absolutely amazing and epic campaign and–because reading Shamus Young’s campaign logs is one of the major things that got me into D&D–I was wondering if anyone is at all interested in hearing about it. And if you are, I’m interested in hearing just how much you want to hear about. I ask because the campaign is incredibly important to me and the other players, and sometimes reading about a great story like that can be a ton of fun. It can also be boring as hell if you aren’t invested in it yourself. So just throwing the idea out there; let me know what you think.

10 responses to “Some housekeeping

  1. Happy early birthday Hawke.
    Hope your year is as good as the one’s before it. And may all your dreams come true except one, so you’ll always have something to strive for.
    On a side note, will you ever do a Let’s play of Half-Life 2:Episode 1?

    • Thank you :D.

      And yes, absolutely. HL2: E1 is on the agenda as soon as HL2 is done. Followed directly by Episode 2. And by then, gods willing, Episode 3. Or Half Life 3. Whatever.

  2. Happy (early) birthday, Hawke. I got you some Ravenloft from Amazon, mostly because I thought you might like something with “Raven” in the title to remind you of all the “fun” you had in Ravenholm. And also because it’s an awesome D&D setting.

    Anyhow, I think reading about your D&D adventures would be great fun. Are you thinking of making campaign logs like Shamus, or maybe something from the perspective of your character? Also, I’m really curious to know what sort of character you’re playing as. I’m guessing something fighter-ish?

    • First of all, THANK YOU! I’ve been wanting Ravenloft for some time! Scary ass, creepy dimension from Lovecraft’s nightmares <3.

      I'm honestly not sure how I'd handle it. The first couple posts would introduce the PC's and specifically my character, obviously, and also the setting. (The world is 100% the DMs homebrew, and he's been building the setting for almost a decade, so there is a LOT of amazing history, geography, etc in it, which is what makes it so epic to play. It's like Skyrim on steroids.)(Speaking of which, Skyrim post this week too. Mental note.)

      I think the way I would handle it is writing things in the third person, but from the perspective of my character–rather like I do with the Skyrim LP, actually. That voice lends itself well to engaging storytelling, and also gives me the chance to explain whatever out of character things are going on that you'd need to read about. I envision it as something of a "Let's Play D&D with Soldierhawk" kind of thing. After I'm caught up this week, I think I'll write up a first post and see what people think, and if they're interested in hearing more.

      • ” a LOT of amazing history, geography, etc” please tell me you, the DM, or one of the other players can draw, becouse an ilastation of the world map would be nice, and be better that a paragraph of second-hand decriptions, even a sloppy MS piant map would be nice. πŸ™‚

      • hey its me again i ask u when u was gonna do another video lol eny way just wanted to say im a huge fan your not even famus u just do videos and its made me a big fan of u lol

  3. Happy birthday Hawke!

    Hope you have a great day! I hope you’ll enjoy “Batman Whatever Happened To The Caped Crusader TP”, saw it in your wishlist and when I noticed your birthday coming up I couldn’t resist πŸ™‚ Thanks for making great videos!

    With kind regards,
    David La Porta/Taomangajin
    The Netherlands

Leave a Reply

