New look, and donations.

As you can see, I gave the site a bit of an overhaul. It was time to shake things up a bit. I was also very happy to finally find a theme that wasn’t black text on white background. (I still have to deal with that when I write a post, but at least looking at my site isn’t painful anymore!)

Feel free to share your thoughts. If enough people hate it I’ll go back, but I like it so far.

I also want your feedback on something else, much more important that the site’s look. As you may (or may not) have noticed, I have a page on the site entitled, “BUY SOMETHIN’ WILL YA?” This page contains a link to my eBay store and Amazon wishlist. I put them up when the site first started because I had seen other bloggers do the same, and pretty much forgot about it.

Recent events, as well as a couple of very kind emails, have drawn my attention to another option: a donate button. I don’t intend to put ads on this site (frankly, I don’t know if WP allows that anyway), and the idea of a button tucked somewhere where you don’t have to look at it if you don’t want to seems far more palatable to me.

However, I also know that putting up something like that can be a touchy thing, so I thought I’d ask: would anyone be offended if I did something along those lines in the next month or two? Be honest–I do this for fun and camaraderie, and would happily continue to. But, if the potential is there to make an extra dollar here or there, well…I wouldn’t object to it unless you would. What say you?

19 responses to “New look, and donations.

  1. My opinions on donating are largely academic at the moment because I am teh poor, so said opinions might reasonably be said to carry less weight. >_> That said, I certainly don’t mind the presence of reasonably discreet donate buttons!

    (and now, to wander off into a tangent that I know is entirely irrelevant here:) Heck, I don’t even have a problem with the occasional PLEASE DONATE I SERIOUSLY NEED THE MONEYS post now and again. I only start to mind when I can see two such instances in under five minutes just from browsing someone’s site.

    • I really appreciate the feedback, Iny. You don’t have to worry about indiscretion–I’m way, WAY to proud to beg. If I’m starving, I’d probably stop posting, not ask strangers (albiet awesome ones :D) for money. A quick mention in a post and a video if I put a button up would be about the extent of it.

  2. I can’t see how putting up a discreet donation button somewhere on the site would do any harm. Your “BUY SOMETHIN’ WILL YA” page doesn’t seem to have caused any problems, and it’s pretty much the same concept really. You’ll just (with any luck) be getting money instead of items.

    On a semi-related note, did my gift arrive okay earlier this week? Amazon tells me it got there, but they do screw up sometimes. I just hope they didn’t accidentally deliver, say, a box of live scorpions, or even worse, a Twilight book.

    • Indeed it did, just arrived a few minutes ago as a matter of fact. Very much appreciated, both the item and the gesture. Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean are love <3. πŸ˜€

      • I’d hate to take credit for someone else’s generosity. I was the guy who bought The Walking Dead Compendium. Just wanted to make sure it got to you okay sometime on Monday or Tuesday.

        By the way, I was surprised when I had another look at your wish list to check. You may have to add more stuff for people to buy for you soon. Which is just awesome.

        Finally, I’d just like to say it really made my day to know that I played some part in all this. It looks like a lot of people were happy to buy you stuff once you mentioned the option in a post. I’m betting donations will reflect the same generosity.

        • Oh God, now I’m embarassed–I owe *Jacob* the thank you for the lovely Gaiman/McKean comic.

          However, the WDC did arrive, and I’ve been tearing through it since. I loved the show, and I’m really, really happy to finally read the comic it’s based on. I’m not usually one for black and white, but the work put into this book is just amazing. What fantastic art and writing.

  3. Dig the new look! Far as I’m concerned, if it’s handled with grace and class you can put that donate button anywhere, a little image of a upturned hat or something would be neat.

    • Thank you! I quite like it as well.

      I tried hunting around for cute, fancy donate buttons, but they all ended up looking ugly, crass, or just plain distracting. In the end, I stuck with the simple Paypal donate button.

      I did, however, add a new image and link to the BUY SOMTHIN’… page, just for fun, because I’m a literature and musical theatre nerd. πŸ˜€

      • Well, that’s a shame, would be nice if there were fun options. Your image on the page does the trick though, although it greatly increases your chances of being thrown down a great big winding staircase sans banister.

  4. I don’t see why a dona button would be offensive. You’re simply giving a choice, not demanding anything, just offering the option. Also, the new look is good. Very nice to look at.

  5. good soldierhawke 1st time in 3 years iv’e heard a person donate well said. p.s nice site 1 out of 10 I give it 1000000000000000000000/10

  6. Your name is B. Summers and you live in California?

    Please tell me you’re a Buffy fangirl so you “get” that incredibly ironic reference!

    Anywayz, I JUST gifted one of your wishlisted items to you as a way of saying thanks for teh hours upon hours of entertainment your HL LP has given me.

    Enjoy. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, ET! Sadly you aren’t in the thank-yous in the video I’m currently uploading (since it’s already made, obviously) but consider yourself profusely thanked. Seeing a comment from you on one of my videos always makes me smile. πŸ™‚

      Also: I was an Angel fan, not a Buffy fan (Wesley ❀ !), but I get it. πŸ˜€ . I never put it ALL together before though, actually, the initial, last name, and location. Great catch!

  7. Heya Hawk. I just watched your latest video, and wanted to say, well, thank you for the thank you. I guess all I can say in return is “You’re welcome”.

    And now for something slightly more on topic: how is the new donate button working out so far? Has anyone bought you a beer yet?

  8. soldierhawke, I want to make a confeshen I want you to know… I’m a 4 year viewer and almost 5 years but i’m aprecait you, and your diseshons, and I gived up many thing to watch and play half life… your my modle and when ever your in a picle, me and your vewers will be there for you. πŸ™‚

    sinerly. mike

Leave a Reply

