TGO – Game continuity and two of my heroes

The comic review is coming, but I just had to get this up right now. The new episode of The Game Overthinker just made my entire month:
____________________________

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “TGO – Continuum“, posted with vodpod

http://gameoverthinker.blogspot.com/
____________________________

Bob Chipman (the GO’s secret identity) is always good, but this was bloody fantastic. I’ve been a Carl Jung and ESPECIALLY a Joseph Campbell acolyte ever since I read The Power of Myth and The Hero With A Thousand Faces. (And really, if you’re a Star Wars fan, you should be familiar with these guys too. The book Star Wars: The Magic of Myth is a great jumping off point if you aren’t quite ready to wrap your head around ideas like the collective unconscious and the monomyth quite yet. You can buy it for a very reasonable price here.)

I won’t say a whole lot more in this post just because I need more time to digest this episode and watch it a few more times before I add my own actual contribution. But please, read, comment and think about it in the interim. Meanwhile, I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from the whole episode:

“Perhaps the truly great stories, the ones that really matter, aren’t the ones that go on forever, but the ones that get retold forever.”

Bravo, Bob. I’ll be using that quote for years to come. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

